Who Was Michael Balint and Why Should We Care?: Introduction

For a brief biography see: Michael Balint – An outstanding medical life.1 Balint’s son, John, was a distinguished professor of gastroenterologist and medical ethicist at Albany Medical College. I attended a lecture by him, and it was there that I first heard about Michael Balint and became interested in his opus magnum, The Doctor, His Patient and the Illness.2 The Sawyer Library at Williams College has a copy and I checked it out periodically over two decades, but found it hard going. Finally, in 2016, I bought a second-hand copy and decided to wade through it. Early in the book Balint asks: “Why does it happen so often that in … Continue reading

Share

Granulomatous Rosacea

Granulomatous Rosacea H.S. 2018 Case Presentation Presented by David Elpern August 17, 2018 A 34-year-old sociologist presented for evaluation of forehead lesions, which have been present for about 2 years.  These began about a year after her daughter’s birth.  Before that, she was on oral contraceptives and was fine, but she has not been on any hormonal birth control since then.  She saw another dermatologist and was treated with topicals, a SilkPeel, Tretinoin.  She also took doxycycline for 2 – 4 weeks. Nothing helped.  She is anxious about her appearance. O/E: The examination shows a pleasant, outgoing woman.  She has a somewhat pebbly appearance to the forehead with many, mostly … Continue reading

Share

Hot Spots 2018 Faculty Emails

Claypoole, Lauren Claypoole.lauren@gmail.com Dann, Frank zitdoc@hotmail.com Elpern, David djelpern@gmail.com Esaki, Paul paulesaki@gmail.com Glamb, Roman rglamb@straub.net Goo-Frazier, Alana alanagoo@hawaii.edu Ing, Malcolm malcolmingmd@hotmail.com Johnson, Douglas dwj808@gmail.com Kamm, Lindsay lindsay.kamm@gmail.com Karewicz, Marianna marianna.karewicz@gmail.com Kumar, Bhushan kumarbhushan@hotmail.com Rademaker, Marius marius.rademaker@gmail.com Reese, Vail drvcr@earthlink.net Reizner, George greizner@dermatology.wisc.edu Schoenfeld, Michael mjschoenfeld@gmail.com Webster, Michael michaelrwebster@bigpond.com      

Share

Dr. Edmund Ing—Expertise and Community Service in Hawaii

Presented by his son, Malcolm Ing, M.D. Hot Spots in Dermatology, August 17 – 19, 2018 Dr.Edmund Ing succeeded despite the odds and challenges he had to face while  obtaining a medical degree and establish a practice  and expertise in urology in Hawaii. Poverty –Despite being born to an impoverished family,  Dr.Ing  was able to obtain excellent training in medicine and surgery and in his specialty—Urology. He was the first residency–trained Urologist in Hawaii after obtaining a Master of Medical Science at the University of Pennsylvania, which required a thesis to graduate from the program. There were no student loan programs, Medicare or Medicaid in those days. Prejudice- Being of  … Continue reading

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Share